You can visit the Grim Tides Kickstarter page if you want the whole backstory, but, basically: this is the sixth full-length novel in my Marla Mason urban fantasy series. The series began with Blood Engines and continued with Poison Sleep, Dead Reign, Spell Games, and Broken Mirrors; there’s also a short prequel novel about the main character’s early days, Bone Shop.

The first four books were published by Spectra, a division of Random House. When my publisher dropped the series, I decided to try and keep it going by appealing directly to the fans. It worked! And it’s still working.

I’ll be updating Grim Tides one chapter at a time, every Monday, starting on January 2, 2012 until it’s done. Read, and enjoy.

Though it’s a complete story in and of itself, Grim Tides will probably make more sense if you read the earlier books in the series — there’s a lot of old bad blood from earlier books bubbling up in this one. You can go to www.marlamason.net for links to the earlier volumes, which are all available in print, e-book, and audio editions.

  • Daniel King

    October 30th, 2012


    i am just asking when will you have finished the full book cause i can’t wait to read it for i have the rest of the books from the first book of the Marla Mason books to the Spell Games i would love to read the full book very soon for this is one of my favorite series i own and i want to keep up with it

    • admin

      October 30th, 2012


      Grim Tides is all done! You can read it here on the site (all 26 chapters are still posted for free), or buy the e-book or a print copy from all the usual online bookstores.

  • No trackbacks yet

Leave a Comment

* are Required fields



Can't wait to read the whole thing?


  You can buy the Kindle e-book.


  Or buy the epub at Barnes & Noble.




  The print version is now available from Merry Blacksmith Press!


  At Amazon.com.


  At Barnes & Noble.